SSLMagic - SSL Security Level

Is SSL Security level Same for All Types of SSL Certificates?

There are three kinds of SSL Certificate available today; Extended Validation (EV SSL), Organization Validated (OV SSL) and Domain Validated (DV SSL). The encryption stages are the same for each certificate, what differs is the vetting and verification processes needed to obtain the certificate. It means the SSL Security Level is same for all the three types.

Over the last few years the variety of businesses using SSL Certificates has multiplied dramatically. The applications for which SSL is being used have additionally expanded. For instance:

  • you would possibly want SSL for privacy in communication (to make sure you are no longer being snooped on),
  • or you would possibly desire to prove you can trust who you are talking to (identity in private communication).

With encryption, you are capable to hide communications from a hacker however you can’t stop them from intercepting communications and posing as your website to steal data from your customers. As people move away from brick and mortar stores and increase their on-line shopping and banking habits, customers have to be able to trust they are visiting the real website of the store they are buying on. This is more challenging to prove online.

You can prove your identification through having an external third-party, vet your personal and corporation information. On the basis of this verification or vetting procedure, SSL Certificates can be broken down into three categories.

Extended Validation (EV SSL) Certificates

With an EV SSL, the Certificate Authority (CA) checks the right of the applicant to use a unique domain name plus, it conducts a thorough vetting of the organization. The issuance method of EV SSL Certificates is strictly defined in the EV Guidelines, as formally ratified through the CA/Browser forum in 2007.  The better the vetting, the better the SSL Security Level .All the steps required for a CA earlier than issuing a certificate are specified here such as:

  • for verifying the legal, physical and operative presence of the entity
  • verifying that the identification of the entity matches legitimate records
  • verifying that the entity has unique right to use the domain specified in the EV SSL Certificate
  • the verification that entity has properly authorized the issuance of the EV SSL Certificate

The latest, and perhaps most significant, development in SSL technology Considers some guidelines. Taking into account the preliminary inception follows the standardized Extended Validation guidelines. New high security browsers such as Microsoft Internet Explorer 7+, Opera 9.5+, Firefox 3+, Google Chrome, Apple Safari 3.2+ and iPhone Safari 3.0+ identify Extended SSL Certificates and activate the browser interface protection enhancements. For clients who want to assert the very best levels of authenticity, this is the perfect solution. The SSL Security Level is appropriate.

Effect of EV SSL Certificates

EV SSL Certificates are available for all kinds of businesses, which includes authorized entities and both integrated and unincorporated businesses. A second set of guidelines, the EV Audit Guidelines, specify a criteria. The criteria depicts under which a CA wants to be correctly audited earlier than issuing EV SSL Certificates. The audits are repeated every year to make sure the integrity of the issuance process.

Extended validation or EV certificates provide the maximum quantity of trust to visitors, and additionally require the most effort through the CA to validate. Per recommendations set by the CA/Browser Forum, extra documentation need to be provided. This allows to issue an EV certificates. As with OV, EV lists the organization name in the certificates itself.

An EV code signing certificates is required to sign Windows 10 drivers and offers an immediate SmartScreen reputation boost. SSL Security level of EV SSL

Organization Validated (OV SSL) Certificates

The CA checks the right of the applicant to use a particular domain name PLUS it conducts some vetting of the organization. The added on  vetted organization data is displayed to clients when clicking on the Secure Site Seal, giving more suitable visibility in who is behind the web site and associated enhanced trust. Organization name also shows in the certificate under the ON field.

Organization validated or OV SSL certificates require more validation than DV certificates, however provide extra trust. For this type, the CA will confirm the real enterprise that is trying to get the certificate (the data required for OV certificates). The organization’s name is also listed in the certificate, giving added trust that both the website and the organization are reputable. OVs are usually used through corporations, governments and different entities that prefer to provide an extra layer of confidence to their visitors. Aside from SSL/TLS certificates, OV is also often used for code signing, document signing, customer authentication, and S/MIME e-mail certificates. SSL Security Level is better than EV.

Domain Validated (DV SSL) Certificates

The CA checks the right of the applicant to use a precise domain name. No organization identity data is vetted and no data is displayed different than encryption data inside the Secure Site Seal. Here you can get idea of the SSL Security Level it provides. While you can be certain that your data is encrypted, you can’t be certain who is really at the receiving end of that information. So for more confidential type of data transfer, Domain Validated (DV SSL) Certificates are not appropriate.

DV SSL Certificates are completely supported and share the same browser recognition with OV SSL, but come with the advantage of being issued almost without delay and except the want to submit organization paperwork. This makes DV SSL perfect for companies wanting a low price SSL quickly and without the effort of submitting organization documents.


Domain validated or DV certificates are the most frequent kind of SSL certificate. They are verified using only the domain name. Typically, the CA exchanges confirmation e-mail with an address listed in the domain’s WHOIS record. Alternatively, the CA offers a verification file which the owner places on the website to be protected. Either approach confirms that the domain is managed through the party requesting the certificate. All, in all, SSL Security Level can now be compared with the three types.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *